Help us damage Your mistakes

October 27, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’ve no clue if Adam Levin’s book The Instructions is any good, but a friend of mine sent this passage to me yesterday, as inspirational  material for my return to Oakland. I quite like it:

“Blessings of The Instructions and the Gurionic War”

So let us mistake destruction for reparation with no greater frequency than we would blood for loyalty, loyalty for love, or books for weapons. Help us to be more scholarly. Help us damage Your mistakes. Show us, Adonai, when to set aside our books for weapons, for sometimes scholars must become soldiers, Adonai, for sometimes only soldiers can fix You, Adonai, and only while fixing can we forgive You, Adonai, for those times when only soldiers can fix You, Adonai.

(Amen)

§ One Response to Help us damage Your mistakes

  • BDR says:

    I’ve tried *The Instructions* three times (it’s a beautiful book to hold) on the recommendations of people I trust but haven’t made headway past thirty pages. I was holding it last night, thinking of another attempt. As always, I assume the fault lies with me (as with my inability to make it into Mrs U, whose ILL due-date was yesterday; I’ll try again another time).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Help us damage Your mistakes at Departure Delayed.

meta