a horrifying thought

November 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

It’s been a busy week or so, so I’ve not been able to attend to things around here. Perhaps I might return in earnest tomorrow. I’m reading Valéry’s Dialogues, so I may feel so inspired. One never knows (I certainly don’t).

In the meantime, I thought that I might flag a new audio interview with William Gass (complete with a reading from his forthcoming novel Middle C).

A favorite line, which I think our friend Tom Clark might appreciate:

I used to love teaching philosophy for may reasons. One of them being that I could feel fairly confident that no student listening to me would ever believe what I say. Imagine being believed. It is a horrifying thought.

§ 2 Responses to a horrifying thought

  • Jamie says:

    Indeed it is.

  • tom clark says:

    Indeed he did appreciate it.

    At least one can fill a vacuum with whatever one wishes.

    The horror vacui is like a comet trail that disappears into the enormity of the plenum of all that is or ever was. Which I suppose is just another way of describing the great emptiness, but at least, as they used to say, a bit of distance lends enchantment to the view. Just a little, anyway. Maybe. Almost.

    Consoling? No.

    But no one ever promised us an intelligence garden.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a horrifying thought at Departure Delayed.

meta