“I drive with one hand all night in my sleep.”

May 1, 2013 § Leave a comment

I am pretty well now, save for sundry bruises received in driving a certain fair maid over the country with one hand, sometimes, indeed, with no hand at all. But she did not seem to mind my method of driving, even when we went off banks and over hay stacks, and as for me — I drive with one hand all night in my sleep.

Willa Cather, letter to Mariel Gere (August 1, 1893)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I drive with one hand all night in my sleep.” at Departure Delayed.

meta